Author Topic: My husband doesn't seem supportive  (Read 3664 times)

Offline Fazzer 70

My husband doesn't seem supportive
« on: June 12, 2016, 06:59:44 PM »
I lost my dad ( my best friend)  8 weeks ago but still finding day by day hard to get through. My mother is lost and distraught losing dad and is crying on and off still. We can cry over silly little things and it still feels unreal now. My husband seems to think we shouldn't be crying still after 8 weeks but I think it's still very raw. Does anyone else find their partner to be this way????

Offline rajahh

Re: My husband doesn't seem supportive
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2016, 09:14:49 PM »
When I lost my daughter and grand daughter 7 years ago my husband who was the stepfather had the beginnings of dementia and promptly forgot it had happened.

This is not the same as you and your husband but I have no experience really to help you. However I know of a fruend who lost her son and her husband just expected life to go on. As normal

Sometimes men find it difficult to display, emotion, so I can imagine this could lead to seemingly a negative reaction on the death of someone.

Has he ever lost anyone close himself, or perhaps he did not have a good relationship with someone who died so does not know what pain you are going through.

We all have a unique relationship with whoever we have lost and a unique pain.

At least here you will find support, we certainly do not have a time limit on grief, as we all know it comes back, over and over. Father's Day will be hard for you, each anniversary will be hard fir you.

Tell us about your father, we often find this helps

Jeannette
« Last Edit: June 12, 2016, 10:06:41 PM by rajahh »

Offline pennyking

• VIP Member
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2016, 10:00:41 PM »
Unfortunaltely if someone hasn't lost a loved one they have no idea how hard it is to even get out of bed.  We are here for you and will listen and give support the best we can.  Take care.  Penny x

Offline Hubby