Author Topic: I tried to save my mums life  (Read 1969 times)

Offline HLK1987

I tried to save my mums life
« on: August 17, 2019, 08:01:23 AM »
Hi,

My mum suffered a sudden cardiac arrest early hours of Sunday morning. We were on our first day of a family holiday and camping in a rural location. My mum called me to go and see her and said she felt unwell (I am a nurse and she wanted advice). She seemed unwell but nothing too severe, but she said she wasn’t sure if she needed to go to hospital. For my mum to have said that I knew she must have been suffering as she never complains of being ill. We had all had a drink so I called an ambulance. I watched my mum suddenly become very unwell. I was aware she was probably having a heart attack and was watching her like a hawk. The ambulance that was supposed to take 18 minutes took 40 minutes to arrive, by which time I was having to perform CPR on my mum. A single paramedic arrived in a car as she was the only person available, she alerted the radio that it was a cardiac arrest and asked for more assistance. I had to be the paramedics second pair of hands. I performed CPR for over an hour on my mum, giving her oxygen and having to suction her secretions. The second paramedic eventually arrived and after 10 minutes or so he took over from me and the decision was made nothing more could be done shortly after. Obviously I immediately felt pain and grief. I had a sore on my hand from doing CPR on the pad they had applied to my mums chest which is slowly healing. I am also aching from the effort I put in to try save my mums life. I went to go say goodbye to my mum with my siblings, I am so pleased I did as my last memory of my mum was not great. Yet I feel no grief or real sadness. I’ve never lost a loved one before, but feel like I can carry on life as normal. We don’t yet have a date for the funeral. I’ve seen the death certificate and the coroner said no matter what intervention we tried she would not have survived. She w