Author Topic: 14 long years!  (Read 6140 times)

Offline Ben30

• New Members
14 long years!
« on: August 14, 2016, 01:50:35 AM »
Hi everyone. I'm completely new to this type of thing. I'm 30 years old now and married with kids. I consider myself to be happy the majority of the time but there's just always something there that will make me feel fed up or upset at the most random of times.
My mum died by suicide when i was 16. I was the eldest of 5 children and my dad brought us up from then on. I do not get deeply upset very often and I actually feel sometimes like I have never grieved enough. Often feeling guilty about this. My family are not the type to talk about this especially when we where younger. I had counselling a few years ago but it altered nothing.
I have also just fell out with my dad who brought us up. This is the first time ever we aren't really on good terms. Another point to mention is that I'm the only child who isn't his by blood. He has never let this be an issue at all but it sometimes creeps into my head that I don't have a blood parent in my life. Which I know is daft but happens when I feel sorry for myself. The bouts of being upset or fed up have been more frequent since this falling out.
I suppose I'm on here to see if anyone else has anything similar to this. Is it just an acceptable level of bereavement to live with? I don't feel depressed or suicidal. Is this a slow gradual build up to something worse? It's been 14 years, is this just how I'll feel now? As I said I'm very happy or atleast satisfied with my life the vast majority of the time.
Thanks for your time.
It would be great to meet someone to just talk to when needs be on a one to one basis.
Ben

Offline Norma

• Administrator
  • VIP Member
Re: 14 long years!
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2016, 07:43:06 AM »
Sending a welcome hug Ben xx
 :hug:
Its been a rough week but i made it. How about you 💐

Offline Emz2014

• Administrator
  • VIP Member